The Stomach Flu

Viral gastroenteritis–the stomach flu–is making the rounds. My daughter was laid low with it last week. My co-workers are starting to circulate the bug. My wife got hit with it last night.

When stomach flu hits, it hits hard. There’s no “mild stomach flu.” Your bowels, colon, and esophagus co-sponsor a fire sale, and everything must go. Serious long-term and terminal illnesses aside, when you have the stomach flu, it’s hard to imagine contracting anything worse.

Now that half my house has been taken out, I’m on a Contagion-level germ alert. I’ve been washing my hands with Howard Hughes frequency, and encouraging my son to do the same. I feel like I’m in a death race with the stomach flu bug, one I seriously don’t want to lose.

On the plus side, whenever I’ve been hit with the stomach flu, I’ve taken comfort in knowing that it’s a quick way to drop a few unwanted pounds. It’s less civil than Weight Watchers, certainly, but my pants are always a little looser when I emerge on the other side.

Wish me luck.

 

Tags: , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

