My Top 5 Horror Movies

My podcast for next week debuts on Halloween. To celebrate the timing, I’ve asked Berwyn legend Svengoolie to come on and share his top five horror movies with me.

In advance of that, I thought I’d offer up my top five personal favorites:

The Ring (2002)

Say what you will about how the Japanese version (Ringu) is better; this movie unnerved the shit out of me.

On the plus side, it put the final nail in the coffin of VHS tapes for me..

Alien (1979)

My father took me to see Alien when I was nine years old (hey, everyone makes mistakes). At the film’s terrifying peak, an unnatural birth scene that need not be described, I told my dad that I just couldn’t watch anymore. I left my popcorn on the floor and ran to the nearest exit. It wasn’t until years later that I felt stable enough to rent and watch the movie all the way through.

Night of the Living Dead (1969)

The zombie movie Rosetta Stone. Nothing before had come close to what George Romero created with this classic.

The black and white filmmaking adds to the claustrophobic horror as a handful of zombie apocalypse survivors hole up in a farmhouse. What caused the zombie outbreak? Does it matter? They’re coming to get you, Barbara!

The Mist (2007)

So much better than anyone wanted to give it credit for. Based on the Stephen King novella, The Mist is a frightening and stressful monster movie that can claim one of the darkest endings I’ve ever seen.

Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)

Equal parts sci-fi and horror, this remake is a creepy psychological nerve-wracker about an insidious alien invasion that turns humans into emotionless drones while they sleep.

Not just one of my favorite horror movies, this one’s an easy pick for my top five all-time list.

Matthew Bennell: [dials his phone] I’ll get the police.

Telephone Operator: [voice] Police.

Matthew Bennell: Officer, I’d like to report four bodies in my backyard.

Telephone Operator: Wait right there Mr. Bennell.

Matthew Bennell: How do you know my name?

Jack Bellicec: [Jack's eyes widen with fear] Hang up, Matthew.

Matthew Bennell: [into the phone] I didn’t tell you my name.

Jack Bellicec: Hang up!

Matthew Bennell: [hangs up the phone] I didn’t tell them my name!

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

