Just like a car crash…

Just like a knife
My only weapon
Is the look in your eyes.

The one Chicago artist whom I’ve never spoken with, in all my time in radio and going to shows, was Al Jourgensen. I guess it’s safe to say that we ran in different circles in the 90’s.

I finally got to interview him yesterday for my book as he took time out from recording the new Ministry album. I really didn’t know what to expect, though I definitely was expecting something infinitely worse than what I got. The Al Jourgensen I spoke with was proudly three-years clean, funny, smart, honest, and charming. Really, a dream interview. I guess I was expecting a drug-addled Aleister Crowley or something. Not even close.

The things that Jourgensen did to himself in the 90’s make a season’s worth of “Behind the Music” play like “Lilo and Stitch.” It’s amazing he’s still alive.

Heroin and crack are tricky things. I root for his continued avoidance of both.

