Speed Kills

My afternoon:

“Sir, do you know how fast you were going?”
“Um, no.”
“51. 51 miles in a 30 mile per hour zone.”
“Really?”
“Yes, sir.”

I got pulled over today while driving home from a Chipotle run. I obviously wasn’t as attentive as I should have been–I was fueled by an impressive lack of sleep and driven by a need to consume my recently-purchased vegetarian fajita burrito bowl.

If there is good news to be found here, it’s the fact that I signed up for AAA just a few months ago. The AAA card acted as my bond card, which meant I was able to surrender that instead of my drivers license. Nothing’s worse than driving around on a yellow ticket, so that was a relief. I also learned that you can now take traffic school online. Online, I say! This “getting a ticket thing” isn’t nearly as awful as I remember–not that I plan on making it a habit now or anything.

