Stuff

A recent trip to Jewel introduced me to a new “Superman Returns” Cap’n Crunch cereal. The crunch and berries are colored red and gold, and are specially designed to turn milk blue. The idea is that it’s supposed to look like you’re eating Superman’s costume for breakfast. Or dinner.

I’m halfway through one box, with one standing ready in my pantry.

______________________________

Best show on T.V. right now? “Supergroup” on VH1.

______________________________

Is there anyone who can say with conviction that the world honestly needed a double CD from Red Hot Chili Peppers?

Somewhere on “Stadium Arcadium” is one really good CD.

________________________________

As far as new music goes, I really love the new Secret Machines, Drive By Truckers, and the Figurines.

________________________________

The times that I’ve listened to older music lately have found my musical selections oddly divided in three ways–older Chicago music, guilty pleasures, and devil-horns-in-the-air metal.

Writing a book on Chicago music in the 90’s has understandably found me diving back into CD’s that had been collecting dust on my shelves for a few years. Current re-enjoyed favorites include “Goat” by the Jesus Lizard, “Cattlemen Don’t” by Triple Fast Action, and “Bunny Gets Paid” from Red Red Meat.

Guilty pleasures have popped up all over my iPod lately. I listened to April Wine and Meat Loaf on my way in to work tonight.

The metal playlist on my iPod is swollen with songs wholly appropriate for late night raging–Venom, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, and Manowar. Hooray for broadsword and loincloth guitar virtuosity.

