Random thoughts

I finally read “So You Wanna Be a Rock & Roll Star” by Jacob Slicther, a drummer’s-eye view of quasi-fame from his days in Semisonic. It’s a very accurate and very self-deprecatingly funny overview of the state of the music industry, and how seriously the cards are stacked against “baby bands.”

_____________________________

I just read my first Richard Matheson book, “Hell House.” It wasn’t as “pantshittingly scary” as my horror-loving friends had guaranteed, but there were a few nice “boo” moments.

_____________________________

Worst single of 2006 so far? It’s a crowded field, for sure, but the frontrunner is Evanescence “Call Me When You’re Sober.” Ugh.

_____________________________

I did one more interview for “Chicago Rocked” yesterday–the very funny Michael McDermott, who was at one point in the ’90s tagged by critics as the “next Springsteen.” That didn’t work out so well, but he’s still very musically active…

