Reading and watching

I just finished “The Husband” by Dean Koontz. It plays out like a bad Bruce Willis movie, but it does read quick and the first 50 pages are legitimately thrilling and whiplash-paced.
________________________________________

I got about 150 pages into “Fast Food Nation,” and had to stop when cattle processing at a slaughterhouse was explained in graphic, sanguinary, detail. It’s a very well-researched, fascinating, book, just not one I felt compelled to see to the end. On the plus side, it did make me feel extra righteous for being vegetarian.
_________________________________________

My usual dork priorities haven’t been met lately. “Superman Returns?” Didn’t see it. “Stargate SG-1?” Didn’t even care when I heard that Sci-Fi was taking it off the air. This relative indifference led to my delayed viewing of “V for Vendetta,” which I watched last night. It’s good, dystopian, fun–Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman are both great. Yes, the Alan Moore source material is better and more interesting, but I’m far from a purist.
________________________________________

