Random thoughts

I’ve been pretty disgusted about iPods ever since mine crapped out, just one month out of warranty range. My attitude was adjusted yesterday with the newly-revealed, relatively affordable, 80g model and iTunes movie download service. Just when I think I’m out…
_________________________________

I saw “The Devil Wears Prada” over the weekend. I had horrible radio flashbacks when, in the movie, Meryl Streep’s diabolical Editor-in-Chief character demands that her assistant track down the as-yet-unpublished Harry Potter manuscript for her twins. I lived through a similarly totallyinsultingandunreasonable request when I worked as Music Director at the Zone. Brooke and Jill were doing mornings, and my boss wanted heaven and earth to move to make them stars. He called me into his office one afternoon. “Gwen (Stefani) and Gavin (Rossdale) are getting married?” he asked.
“Yep.”
“I want Brooke and Jill there.”
“You mean, covering the wedding?”
“No. At the wedding.”
“You mean, as invited guests?”
“Uh-huh. Get it done.”

I didn’t get it done. In fact, I couldn’t even make the effort to get it done with a straight face. The way I phrased the request to my “inside guy” was something like, “I’m just making this call to cover my ass, and I invite you to have a good laugh about this one with me, but…”
_________________________________

“The Summer of Shuffle” is now 2 1/2 shows away from being blown into radio oblivion. It’s been fun, and I do greatly appreciate the support I got for that temporary little morning show.

