New music

I listened to the new Mastodon album, “Blood Mountain,” twice today and have only recently been able to put my spleen back into its rightful internal resting place. Yes, it’s a spleen-shattering affair. Yes, it’s as good as the Kerrangs of the world insist. Yes, it’s as good as metal in 2006 gets.

I also love the new “holdover” EP from the Polyphonic Spree, “Wait.” I’ve always had a thing for Tripping Daisy–even at their wanky, psychedelic, indulgent worst. My favorite Tripping Daisy song remains “Sonic Bloom,” a song covered and made even more majestic on “Wait.” Two new songs and two other covers (Psychedelic Furs “Love My Way” and Nirvana “Lithium”) round out the EP, which has me more than anxious for the next full-length from the berobed collective.

