Podcasting stuff

The latest installment of “Stun,” featuring Ed Brubaker and a retail report from Patrick Brower of Graham Crackers Comics, should be live by Tuesday.

What I’m trying to figure out now is how to digitally record broadcast worthy-ish phone interviews from home. Because of my hours, I’m booking interviews for after 9 p.m., so I can do them from the Q101 studios before I hit the air. It’d be great if I could be a little more accommodating to those in the industry who don’t want to be bothered by me after the sun goes down.

When I recorded my “Chicago Rocked” phone interviews from home, I put the callers on speaker phone and recorded them into my iPod via iMic. The end result was decent enough to transcribe from, but of little value beyond that.

I’ve read obnoxiously long, detailed explanations on how to record calls made with Skype. Those directions usually lose me once they talk about things like “mix minuses.”

There has to be away, in this new digital, podcasting and blogocentric, era to do this with relative ease. If anyone reading this has any advice, please share!

james@jamesvanosdol.com

