New music

Miscellaneous, unguided, thoughts:

____________

Local music-wise, I’m currently loving Detholz!, Baldwin Brothers, Office, and May or May Not.
____________

I tried to listen to the new Mars Volta album, “Amputechture.” I tried really, really, hard. Surely I’m missing something, I thought. I tried just as hard with the previous two albums. Meh. I’m now convinced that saying you like Mars Volta is like saying you like jazz. You’re supposed to like them. They’re cool. The ability to play an instrument should never be confused with the ability to write a memorable song. That’s all I’m asking for–one memorable song.

…and yes, I do like both ATDI and Sparta.

___________

I spent a lot of time reassessing TV on the Radio’s “Return to Cookie Mountain,” which initially caught me on the right day. I’ve since realized that it’s a nice album to have in the background as I cook dinner, but not much more than that.

___________

Speaking of background music, I’ve dozed off to the new Decemberists on more than one occasion.
___________

The new Clinic CD, “Visitations,” isn’t great but I still find their spastic, vaguely no-wave, sound entertaining. The surgical masks are just gravy.
____________

“The Information” from Beck is my favorite Beck album since “Odelay.” “Guero” was tuneless hype, and the downtrodden Beck of “Mutations” and “Sea Change” were maudlin and limp. I temper my enthusiasm for the new disc with the knowledge of Beck’s Scientology affiliation, which creeps me out. I’d say more about the cult, but I love my family and don’t wish to have them persecuted into oblivion.

