Quickie movie thoughts

I’ve rented/been to a handful of movies over the holiday break. Some thoughts:

The Da Vinci Code
Total snore. I swear I remember the book as kinda thrilling, but the film adaptation was water-torture slow. After only a third of the movie, I was praying–screaming–for Amelie to take her top off, for whatever simple, momentary, thrill it could’ve provided.

The Queen
I shouldn’t have liked this movie. The Royals and antique British culture have never moved me in any way. Strangely enough, I loved “The Queen;” it was easily one of the better movies I’ve seen in the past year or two. As fantastic as Helen Mirren was in the title role, it was Michael Sheen as Tony Blair who left an unforgettable impression on me.

Wordplay
The crossword puzzle documentary. The New York Times crossword puzzle infuriates me and makes me feel like a G.E.D.-educated rube. There are legions of “puzzleheads” who live for their daily crossword fix (Bill Clinton and Jon Stewart among them). I couldn’t take my eyes off these competitive smarty-pantses.

