Miscellaneous thoughts, 1/17/07

I finally watched “Clerks II” the other day. Predictably, I enjoyed it. It’s tough to hate a movie whose various plotlines converge at a donkey show. Favorite quote:
(Jay) “This tastes like p*** and flies!”
________________

Things are really accelerating with “Chicago Rocked.” My final, final, final revisions are going to be turned in within the next three weeks. I’m already amazed at how much has changed–for the better–since I initially turned it in back in
(R)Oc(k)tober.

________________

“STUN” has become an all-consuming hobby. My fledgling comics podcast has become the very definition of “labor of love.” I finished editing the Alex Irvine show yesterday, and will probably post it before the weekend. I’m almost halfway through production on the Darwyn Cooke show.

________________

Speaking of Darwyn Cooke, I reread “The New Frontier” before I did my interview with him. Man, what a great miniseries. I’m a sucker for that “classic” super-hero look that he, Michael Allred, and Steve Rude all do so well. And speaking of comics, a less-obvious favorite of mine lately has been the Forgotten Realms run of books that Devil’s Due has been putting out. I’m usually indifferent to sword & sorcery stuff, but the “Crystal Shard” in particular won me over.
________________

I got an anemic four hour’s worth of rest today. I’m managing, though if anyone looks at me crosseyed I’ll either punch them or weep uncontrollably. Fatigue does strange things to a man.

________________

Favorite song of the moment: “Fat Children,” Jarvis Cocker.

________________

I think I may be on “Upscale Chicago” soon. I’ve been talking with Bill Kelly about shooting some stuff both in the Q101 studio and at various concert venues.

________________

