“Blades of Glory”

I saw “Blades of Glory” last night and loved it. I’ve long been a Will Ferrell apologist, even through his awful “Wedding Crashers” cameo and the turgid “Talladega Nights.”

“Subtle” comedies have never done much for me. Okay, I’ll cop to a love for the Cohen Brothers, but that’s pretty much it. In the land of the less-than-subtle, Will Ferrell is king and I am a loyal subject.

In a week where I was in anxious need of amusement, I saw “Blades of Glory” at the exact right time. I’m still giggling over a remark Will Ferrell’s character made to skating pro Nancy Kerrigan and belly-laughing about a beheading scene which easily ranks as one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen on film.

Next week I’ll be dissecting “Spider-Man 3″ beyond what’s appropriate. This week, I was more than sated by the base pleasures of “Blades of Glory.”

