Lord of the Wings, Book Three

Back when I ordered my ticket, I’d requested a window seat. For some reason, I had it in my head that the window seat was the most desirable of the three-across configuration.

I realized once I walked into the plane cabin that I had it all reversed–aisle seats are absolutely the way to go. Unless you’re flying first class, the coach seats are about as spacious as those on the Red Line. For the entire flight, I had to make a conscious effort not to brush knees with the person next to me (who was stuck in the Grand Suck of all seats, the fearsome middle seat). Had I been in the aisle, my left leg could’ve gone exploring a bit. Lesson learned for next time.

The view out the window was, of course, breathtaking. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of staring out the window during (and right after) takeoff, which left me feeling as though my pancreas had jumped into my throat and my colon had dropped to my feet.

to be continued…

