Quick Thoughts, 6/2/08

MOVIES

I just rejoined Netflix. The decision to jump back in came after renting “The Orphanage” on iTunes, and not actually finishing the movie within the allotted 24-hour window. I don’t know if I’m all that interested in “Cloverfield,” but when it arrives tomorrow, I feel good knowing that I have as long as I damn well please to watch it.

On a related note, the hour of “The Orphanage” I did watch was a snore. I was really excited to see it, especially after reading a dozen or so reviews proclaiming how pants-shittingly scary it was. Newsweek, in particular, said something like “You’ll want to crawl back into the womb and stay there because of how upsetting this bad boy is.” I’m paraphrasing. Retarded kids in masks playing around an old creepy orphanage? Disturbing. The movie (or the part I saw) just didn’t do it for me, though.

I watched “Charlie Wilson’s War” and thought it was well above average. It could’ve benefitted from another 30 minutes of exposition, but Philip Seymour Hoffman’s portrayal of antisocial CIA agent Gust Avrakotos really made the film for me.

As for the future, I have yet to get truly excited about “The Dark Knight.” I want to be excited. I love Batman. I love the cast. The trailers aren’t much for enticement. There’s no real “hook,” other than Heath Ledger-by-way-of-Johnny-Rotten playing the Joker. I’ll see it in the theater, but my expectations are low.

GEORGE W. BUSH

The worst president in the history of our nation. The damage he’s done to…what’s that? My economic stimulus check is scheduled to arrive by next week? Woo hoo! You da man, Dubya! Job well done!

FLEETWOOD MAC “TUSK” 

The song. This is one of those songs that I’ve rediscovered after years of abandonment. I’ve probably played it twice a day for the past week. Tribal percussion. A marching band. Lindsey Buckingham flexing his creative muscle. Brilliance.

