Hello from Jacksonville, FL–miscellaneous thoughts

After spending the morning in Jacksonville on business, I’m currently enjoying a plate of nachos at the Jacksonville International Airport as I wait for my lift back to O’Hare. I didn’t visit Jacksonville long enough to get any sort of impression of the city, but I did have to drive over a giant suspension bridge coming to and going from my meeting. I hate bridges. I avoid the 90 Skyway whenever I can, because I’m always unnaturally afraid my car will end up rocketing off the bridge into the wild blue abyss (or worse, Gary). The Jacksonville bridge was scarier from a distance–I swear it jutted thousands of miles into the sky. It was mercifully painless when I drove over it, but I swore out loud the entire time to provide myself with comfort and distraction.

____

I suppose it’s strange to say that I really don’t read many books on music, despite my having written one (and almost finished rewriting it). I just read “Fargo Rock City” by Chuck Klosterman. He’s a very funny and very wise writer, and the book made me feel much better about buying tickets to see the Scorpions this Sunday night.

As I told my friend Marty, who I’m taking to the show, “The seats are okay, but it could be worse…we could be going to see the Scorpions.

What’s that?

Oh. Crap.”

______


After my review of “The Dark Knight,” I decided to buy the animated “Gotham Knight” DVD, which is supposed to bridge “Batman Begins” and “The Dark Knight.” I tried to watch it on the plane, but it was really boring. And very manga-looking. Pass.

_______

I just bought the new Old 97s and Hold Steady albums. Not blown away by either yet, but I suspect they’re both “growers.”

_______

I thought the beheading story from Canada was disturbing until more information came down yesterday about how the victim was partially eaten. Every time I think I should root for humanity, I remind myself that there’s really no point. Lost cause.
_____

