A bullet dodged

Blogging from the Brown Line again…

I reported for jury duty yesterday morning. Not just jury duty, GRAND JURY duty.

26th and California was just as I’d remembered–tenements to the east, razor wire-lined prison to the immediate south. It was a soul-crushing scene to cap off what was a soul-crushing commute.

I admittedly didn’t know much about how Grand Juries operate, but it was quickly explained that they hear close to 100 cases a day and determine whether enough evidence exists in each to go to trial.

It was also explained that, if selected, we’d be serving through the first week of October (Rocktober, if you prefer). That’s a total of five weeks. That’s ridiculous.

Other than the unemployed and unemployable, who has the finacial security, lack of personal/family needs, and patience to serve for five weeks? One week is a reasonable expectation to place on a citizen; five weeks is obnoxious.

We each took turns being interviewed by the Assistant District Attorney, who I found very likeable–kind of like Gary Oldman’s Commissioner Gordon in the last two Batman movies. I told him who I was, what I did for a living, and some basic family information and then returned to my judicial pew with the rest of the jury “hopefuls.”

After a considerable amount of time, the jurors were announced, and I wasn’t one of them. Life continues as originally scheduled for the next five weeks.

I got a $17 check for my time. I’m going to spend it all in one place, maybe on iTunes:

Warren Zevon “Lawyers, Guns, and Money”
Anthrax “I Am the Law”
Judas Priest “Breaking the Law”
Fiona Apple “Criminal”
Eno/Cale “Crime in the Desert”
Peter Tosh “Here Come the Judge”
Jackson Browne “Lawyers in Love”
That’s the best I can come up with while being crushed on the train and typing into a Blackberry…

