“Recess” is part of “recession,” and recess was always fun in grade school…

Publicly overheard across America: “Man, this economy stinks. I hope it turns around soon.”

Recited with regularity in every mind across America: “Shit, shit, shit. Crap, crap, crap. Please don’t force me to live in a refrigerator box under an overpass and eat dog food to survive.”

It’s gotten flat-out scary. Those who have jobs are clinging to them with unrelenting tenacity. Those who don’t are competing “Survivor” style to earn the right to draw a paycheck. Did you hear the one about the former Fortune 500 exec who went from pulling six figures to being elated over scoring a part-time gig at Kohl’s? Front page of cnn.com a few weeks back.

What’s the solution? I dunno. I went to Columbia College for radio.

All I can do as greater minds try and pull us out of the muck is lend a hand where I can. Buy food for out-of-work friends. Make calls on their behalf. And all the while, say publicly, “Man, this economy stinks.  I hope it turns around soon.”

