Travel essentials

I’m leaving for Atlanta in the morning for a two-night stay.

Whenever I travel, I go out of my way to acquire entertainment to keep me busy while I’m on the road.  After hitting Barnes and Noble, iTunes, and the library this weekend, I’ve amassed way more than I actually need for the trip, if not for all of March.  Here’s what I’m staring at as I’m working on my carry-on bag:
Arthur C. Clarke “Childhood’s End”-Paperback purchase.  Never read it, though I’ve been told for about 20 years that I should.
Martha Brockenbrough “Things that Make Us [sic]”-My friend Margaret introduced me to The Society for the Promotion of Good Grammar (SPOGG) online.  After reading a few online sample pages of this book, which was written by SPOGG founder Martha Brockenbrough, I had to buy it.  It’s good to see grammar injustice being fought on such a grand scale.
Robert E. Howard “The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian”-The legendary first Conan stories from Howard.  I resisted Conan for my entire life, but now find myself open to genres I’d previously dismissed, like sword and sorcery…and Western.
“Deadwood” episodes I and II-Maybe it’s all the Jonah Hex comics I’ve read over the past year, but I’m intrigued by Westerns for the first time ever.  I downloaded these for airplane iPod viewing.
“The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford”-DVD rental from the library.  Nick Cave scored the film, and it was completely overlooked in theaters last year.  I thought I’d watch this at some point during my hotel time.
“The Walking Dead Volume 9: Here We Remain”-A library loaner.  I fell way behind on this title, but always enjoy Robert Kirkman’s bleak black and white zombie action.
“DMZ: Friendly Fire”-Another library loan.  I bought the first trade collection from the bookstore because of the price, $9.99.  Vertigo prices their trade paperback collections to hook you in to buying the subsequent editions.  Or at least borrow them.  
“John Constantine, Hellblazer: Staring at the Wall”-Another library loan.  This will be the eighth Hellblazer trade I’ve taken out over the past month or two.  I still don’t really like the character or the comic, but feel like I should.
Jim Butcher “Death Masks”-Like Hellblazer, I’ve tried the Dresden Files novels a few times and don’t much care for the lead character, Harry Dresden.  Like I did with Hellblazer, I’m trying again with this book.
“Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay”-Of everything I end up bringing, this is the one I’m positive I’ll finish and enjoy the most.  ’cause, really, the first “Harold and Kumar” is a classic.
“Conan the Barbarian”-Another DVD rental.  Arnold’s breakthrough.  This Conan interest I have is getting out of control.  Speaking of which…
L. Sprague De Camp “Conan and the Spider God”-A non Robert E. Howard-written Conan tale.  This probably won’t make the trip to Atlanta, but I’ll have it waiting for me when I get back.
I’ve packed my shoes and underwear.  I have my Ziploc bag of toiletries ready to go.  Now to narrow down this list to something manageable and non-ridiculous.  Midway Airport, here I come…
