90s in 90 Days #3: Time for the percolator

90s in 90 Days #3:  White boy sounding dumb

I graduated from Columbia College in Chicago.  While there, I took a mess of radio and media-related classes.  One thing I made sure to get involved with before I graduated was Columbia’s radio station, WCRX.  

I worked once a week, hosting the early 6-8 a.m. shift.  The station’s format was urban.  My life was suburban.  Because of that, I don’t think I could’ve sounded more awful framing the songs on the station.  Granted, WCRX is a learning/laboratory station.  And sure, working as a square peg in a round hole format is something all broadcasters do at some point, but I was keenly aware of how shitty I sounded.
The song I’ll never forget having to play on the station was “Percolator,” by Cajmere.  In my youthful arrogance, I assumed that everyone had to agree with me when I cracked open the mic and said, “and here’s what could be the worst song ever recorded…’Percolator,’ by Cajmere.”  Not only did the audience disagree, I made a terrible faux pas by slamming one of Chicago house’s rising stars.  
I never thought much of house music, despite the fact that Chicago claims it as its own.  For today’s entry, I decided to listen to the “Percolator” with fresh ears, guided by the wisdom I’ve acquired since.  My learnings?  Holy hell, I still think it’s the worst song ever.
Never mind.
____________

90s in 90 Days

Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  
