90s in 90 Days #4: The first Local Music Showcase


90s in 90 Days #4: The first Local Music Showcase


Needless to say, maintaining a blog feature like this (to say nothing of writing my book) has kept my head in total nostalgia mode. Digging through my archives, I ran across some tapes of the first few Local Music Showcases I hosted (which were also the first commercial radio shows I ever hosted).  Here’s the list of artists played on my maiden voyage, EXACTLY 14 YEARS AGO TODAY:
6/4/95
Flat Earth Society
Smoothies
Squids
Fix Your Wagon
New Rob Robbies
Boom Hank
On that same cassette box was a list of interviews I did at Q101’s Jamboree ’95:  Phunk Junkeez, Sponge, and Collective Soul.  
As this little feature-in-a-blog/book teaser progresses, I’ll recap some other early LMS playlists…


____________

90s in 90 Days
 

Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.   

