90s in 90 Days #6: Doris

90s in 90 Days #6: Doris


When I first met Paul Adelstein, I knew him as a musician.  His band, Doris, ripped my ears off with a 7″ single for the song “Unfrozen King.”  It was love at first listen.



The debut Doris album was “Carpet Bomb Solutions,” an overlooked, tenderly aggressive gem. “Swirl” from “Carpet Bomb Solutions” is available for listening in this post.



Since the 90s, Paul’s done quite well for himself as an actor.   We had lunch when I started working on my book, and in talking with him, it was obvious that he’s still passionate about music.  He released a second Doris album, mostly for his own amusement, in 2005 called “Between You and Me.”   As his star continues to rise in Hollywood, it’s hard to imagine him finding the time to write or record much in the immediate future.  If and when it ever does happen, I’ll be waiting for it.



















____________




90s in 90 Days



Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

