90s in 90 Days #7: Horton Hears a Hootie

90s in 90 Days #7: Horton Hears a Hootie


I was at Dome Room late one mid-90s weeknight to see Certain Distant Suns.

Walking around the venue, I ran into the local rep for the band’s label, Giant. She was with her boyfriend, and like me, they were waiting for the band to come on. She introduced me to her boyfriend, Soni (pronounced “Sunny”), and we started to make industry small talk. I’d just started doing a few “regular” (non-local music based) airshifts on Q101, and she asked how it was going.

“Great,” I said. “Even though I have to play shitty bands like Hootie and the Blowfish, I love it.”

She looked at me with a nervous smile. “Soni plays drums for Hootie and the Blowfish.”

What are the odds?  Seriously.  What.  Are.  The.  Odds.






 


____________




90s in 90 Days



Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

