90s in 90 Days #8: Kill Hannah celebrates early rejection

90s in 90 Days #8: Kill Hannah celebrates early rejection
In going through my notes for the book, I came across this quote from Matthew Devine about the early days of Kill Hannah.   As ambitious and as tenacious as he was about his band, he looked a rejection letter from Metro as a step in the right direction:

“First thing we did, we pressed a seven inch (and) we sent it to Metro. I got a written rejection from Metro, and I thought I won the lottery.  It was handwritten; he (Todd Kasten, talent buyer) compared us to Echo and the Bunnymen and said ‘I think what you’re doing shows promise, but come back when you’re ready.’ I was just so thrilled at that.”



____________

90s in 90 Days

Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

