90s in 90 Days #9: The Blacks “Dolly”

90s in 90 Days #9: The Blacks “Dolly”


The Blacks (formerly Black Family) were one of my favorite Bloodshot bands in the 90s.  Singer/guitarist Danny Black summed up everything I liked about the band in an interview he did with me:
“I saw no reason not to incorporate all my influences.  I wanted to have cabaret, old school blues, and jazz incorporated, but played by a rock band.  I wanted it to be like AC/DC playing Louis Armstrong songs.”
“Dolly” from “Dolly Horrorshow” was more of a straight-up rocker from the band; think X meets the Old ’97s:



____________

90s in 90 Days
 
Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

