90s in 90 Days #10: Apocalypse Hoboken

90s in 90 Days #10: Apocalypse Hoboken


Apocalypse Hoboken was one hot mess.  Lead singer Todd Pot was wildly unpredictable on stage, a sloppy carnival barker who always seemed dangerously close to spiralling completely out of control.  In other words, it was impossible to take your eyes off of him.

Hoboken’s best shows were seismic, as were some of their better moments on CD.  I wanted to go back and listen to some of my old recordings and interviews with the band, but couldn’t because a lot of my archives are kept on DAT tapes (the format of the future!).  Luckily, the band excerpted one of my interviews on their homemade “box set.”  Here’s a quick 30-second moment I had with the band in the 90s on Q101:


On a related note, anyone have an old DAT player they don’t need anymore?


____________

90s in 90 Days
 
Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

