90s in 90 Days #20: Gastr del Sol


90s in 90 Days #20:  Gastr del Sol



Seems like most Chicago bands in the 90s had a “self-destruct” button that they couldn’t help but push.  One artist that gleefully ran counter to that was inventive combo Gastr del Sol, whose David Grubbs says of the 90s, “I never was on a major label and got dumped.  I never got really successful and had a nasty drug habit and hit bottom.  It was all pretty good for me.” 


____________

90s in 90 Days

Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book. 

