90s in 90 Days #28: …and still going. Michael McDermott

90s in 90 Days #28:  …and still going.  Michael McDermott

Michael McDermott released his debut album, “620 W. Surf,” in 1991.  At the time, critics and industry types pegged him as a Springsteen for Generation X.   Once that impossible-to-live-up-to-hyperbole died down, McDermott found a way to keep recording, touring, and making music for a living.  In the 18 years since “Surf,” McDermott’s music has been released by at least seven different labels.  As he said in a 2006 interview with me, “I figure I’m like the Elizabeth Taylor of record companies—I’m going on my like fifth marriage now.  I still have a lot left in me.”
____________

90s in 90 Days

Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

