90s in 90 Days #30: Thrill Kill Kult at the Movies



90s in 90 Days #30:  Thrill Kill Kult at the Movies

With their groove-heavy cinematic tales of bad boys, easy girls, sex, burlesque, and camp, My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult completely won me over in 1989 with their “Kooler Than Jesus” EP.  When “Confessions of A Knife” came out one year later, I bought it at Wax Trax on Lincoln, the most unapologetically loud place on Earth. Later that night, I tried to replicate the db level of Wax Trax in my apartment, blaring the shit out of “A Daisy Chain for Satan” after being poured home from Exit.

TKK had their share of fans, Hollywood folk among them.  Their music found its way into two major 90s movies:  “Cool World” and “The Crow,” the latter of which featured performance footage of the band.  Groovie Mann explains how they landed the spot in “The Crow,” “The guy who was putting the movie together liked our music and contacted us through our management.  It was cool.  Nobody was like running around, selling us.  Somebody wanted us.  That’s the kind of the same sort of situation with ‘Cool World.'” 



____________




90s in 90 Days



Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

