90s in 90 Days #44: A Pulsar on Lounge Ax

90s in 90 Days #44: A Pulsar on Lounge Ax 
Through the 90s, Lounge Ax was an indie rock oasis in its culture-stripped, high five-friendly, Lincoln Park/De Paul area neighborhood.  I talk a lot about the importance of Lounge Ax in “Chicago Rocked,” as well as the club’s “you’d be better off just holding it” men’s room.  For the purposes of this blog entry, let’s just leave it at the fact that when the club went away at the beginning of 2000, the local music community lost something pretty magical.  
Drummer Harry Trumfio of Pulsars explains, “Once the Lounge Ax closed man, Chicago was sort of no more, you know what I mean? Lounge Ax is a big influence on a lot of bands, including me and Dave (Trumfio, also of Pulsars) and everyone.”


__________

90s in 90 Days

Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s.  It could be a radio memory.  Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album.  Maybe a review aided by hindsight.  Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.  

