On-the-go Shuffle Analysis, 8/25/09


I’ve been driving to work too often, and my wallet’s begged me for mercy from the cost-ineffective downtown garage rates.


So, here I am on the brown line, passing time with another round of snap-judgment iPod shuffle analysis.


7:27
REO Speedwagon “Golden Country”
-REO’s a shit sandwich on a dirty plate. “Golden Country” is almost enough to redeem them, but I can’t do the full six minutes this morning. As the song says, “the time has come for you my friend.”  Next.


7:31
Shriekback “Lined Up” –
Underrated and mostly unknown, Shriekback is a chilly, rhythmic cool. On a related note, I wish I could find their long out-of-print “Big Night Music” album. My vinyl copy didn’t make it to the 21st century.


7:35
Stephen Malkmus “Sheets” –
Malkmus’ music (Pavement included) sounds just plain irritating if heard before noon. Somebody give me a melody, please. Skip.


7:37
Naked Raygun “Treason”
-My summer’s been spent making the case for Chicago music from the 90s. This song makes the case for Chicago music from the 80s. As good as it gets.


7:40
Killswitch Engage “I Would Do Anything”
-My first time hearing this; I just loaded the s/t album into my iPod on Sunday. Pretty much what I’d expected. Big fist-pumping riffs, screams, growls, and a hook. Not awful.


7:43
Waco Brothers “Pigsville”
-Have you ever been to Pigsville, honey? 75 seconds of Jon Langford’s taunting explodes into classic Wacos.


7:46
The Decemberists “The Rake Song”
– I want to like a song that has homonym fun with “wedded” and “whetted,” but…


7:49
Glen Campbell “Rhinestone Cowboy”
-Fucking kill me. I’m out.

