90s in 90 Days #90: In Summary…

90s in 90 Days #90: In Summary…

90 days, 90 blog posts about the 1990s.  The feature-in-a-blog is over as of today.

I originally envisioned “90s in 90 Days” as something that would complement my fundraising efforts for “Chicago Rocked,” creating the equivalent of “DVD extras” for my unpublished book.

As I type this, well after midnight, that unpublished book isn’t looking like it will ever cross over from Word doc to bookshelf, but that’s a subject for another post.

Doing this exercise in nostalgia reminded me of just how fortunate I was to have been in Chicago, doing what I did, during the 1990s.  I wouldn’t say that the era was “magical” or anything silly like that.  I will, however, say that it was a time whose circumstances can never be repeated or even imitated.  Through it all, I had a front row seat as area bands rose, fell, and changed the face of popular and independent music. 

Kickstarter efforts aside, I still feel pretty lucky.

 ____

90s in 90 Days
Over the course of 90 days (not consecutive, though I’ll try), I’ll be offering up a capsule look at something about Chicago music from the 90s. It could be a radio memory. Thoughts on a song, show, band, or album. Maybe a review aided by hindsight. Whatever it is, it’ll be original content just for this site, and not found in my book.

