Beatles Rock Band

I suck at video games.  I can never find the hidden chalice, unlock bonus characters, or memorize the complex codes and sequences needed to advance to another level.  Games like Guitar Hero and Rock Band, however, make me feel like an introverted, 13 year-old, 24/7 gaming, World of Warcraft overlord.  Played on “easy,” I can crush “Mississippi Queen” and “Wave of Mutilation.”  Or wage a six-string Jihad against Slash and Tom Morello…and win.

Yesterday, I was given Beatles Rock Band as a birthday gift.  Just when I thought I couldn’t listen to the Beatles again as long as I live, Rock Band managed to suck me back in to the clean, basic greatness of the Fabs’ library.  The animation in Rock Band is stunning, and the gameplay options (harmony vocals?)  are a huge leap forward.

As I Lou Reed-monotoned my way through “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” and “Get Back,” I realized what an important thing it is for this game to exist.  Just as other versions of Rock Band and Guitar Hero have introduced later generations to the quote-unquote classics, Beatles Rock Band offers a well-rounded education on one of the most critical music groups of all time.  It’s not just the songs–it’s the band’s history, unfolding from the Cavern Club, winding through psychedelia, and landing on the Apple rooftop.  If that same 13 year-old, 24/7 gaming, introvert can find some good in the Beatles through Rock Band, then the ongoing battle against the Hollywood Undeads of the world can claim victory.

Counting the minutes until I’m back home and forcing John and George to spiral in their graves as I belt out “Tomorrow Never Knows.”

