Amazon vs. the world

As of today, I’ve done all my holiday shopping online.  What’s more, I’ve done it all through one outlet:  Amazon.com. 

Most of my purchases are typical Amazon “gets”–books, DVDs, and music.  I was reasonably certain that I was saving a fortune by ordering through the e-commerce retailer, but I started wondering if I could do better.
I decided to to put the site through a series of challenges.  I picked a handful of items from different guy-friendly (okay, James-friendly) categories, and compared Amazon prices to other e-commerce sites: 
Here’s what I found:
Sandman Volume 1: Preludes and Nocturnes
Graphic Novel


Amazon-13.59
Barnes and Noble-14.39
Graham Crackers Comics-19.99
WINNER: AMAZON
True Blood: The Complete First Season
DVD Box Set



Amazon-33.99
Wal-Mart-31.86
Barnes and Noble-37.70
Target-49.99
WINNER:  WAL-MART
Super Mario Brothers for Wii
Video Game



Amazon-49.99
Barnes and Noble-49.99
Wal-Mart-49.96
Game Stop-49.99
WINNER:  WAL-MART, BY THREE CENTS.
Jack Purcell by Converse
Men’s shoes


Amazon-49.99
Zappos-44.00
Piperlime-50.00
Converse-50.00
Nordstrom-49.98
WINNER: ZAPPOS
Where the Action Is! Los Angeles Nuggets 1965-1968
Music Box Set



Amazon-53.99
Barnes and Noble-46.79
Rhino Records-56.99
WINNER: BARNES AND NOBLE
The Stand (Complete and Uncut) by Stephen King, 1991 paperback
Book



Amazon-8.99
Barnes and Noble-8.09
Target-8.54
WINNER:  BARNES AND NOBLE
CONCLUSION:  
Of the six challenges I created, Amazon won only one of them.  While competitive, their prices aren’t always the cheapest.  
In some of the cases above, cheapest is a relative term, sometimes only amounting to a matter of a few cents; maybe a buck or two. The lesson learned online, as it’s been learned in brick and mortar stores, is to shop around.



