How harrd is it two spell?

I’m running at a pace where one out of every two magazines I read these days contains a dramatic spelling or grammar error.  
Found this afternoon in Wizard (January 2010):
“It’s the most basic tenant of the superhero’s career:  Captain America fights Nazis.”
Tenant?  Seriously?  Here’s how Merriam-Webster defines the word:
“one who holds or possesses real estate or sometimes personal property (as a security) by any kind of right.”
What I believe Wizard was going for was tenet, here again defined by M-W:
“a principle, belief, or doctrine generally held to be true.”
I was almost willing to let the malaprop slide.  After all, I’ve grown accustomed to finding errors in the periodicals I read. Then, no more than one paragraph later:
“Bucky off-handedly admits that it was he who killed Adolph Hitler.”
When it comes to history-making genocides, Hitler is Madman #1.  I wrongly assumed that everyone in the universe knew how to spell his first name: Adolf.  
And, oh yeah:  There’s no hyphen in “offhandedly.”  It’s a real word.
I think it’s fair to expect a professional magazine to have professional-level editors who not only know the difference between tenant and tenet, but who know how to spell Hitler’s name.  Shame on writer Kiel Phegley for the errors; shame on Wizard for not knowing enough to catch them.
Have you noticed the same thing happening across the publishing industry?





