Argo Tea and Other Caloric Criminals

Some people sneeze.  Others break out in hives.  When allergies hit me, I lose my voice.

It happens 2-3times a year, and I always know when it’s coming, and then when it’s escalating.   Other than not talking, I’ve yet to find a solution to my problem.   This predicament was obviously much worse when I was on the air full-time and relied on my voice for a living.  I’ll never forget the awfulness of my voice-impaired self interviewing Billy Corgan backstage at the United Center before the “last” Pumpkins arena show. My remedy that night was to stand in the Bulls/Hawks locker room shower with the hot water turned to full blast for 30 minutes.  I had hoped that the steam might revive my larynx.  Fail.

My voice is currently teetering right on the edge of being acceptable.  If it gets any worse, I’m going to sound brutally hoarse and unlistenable.  As fate would have it, I’m doing more fill-in and weekend work than usual atQ101 this week.  By the time I walked out of the studio last night, I wasn’t convinced that I’d make it through the weekend.  With that in mind, I tried to talk as infrequently as life and family would allow before I came back for today’s 2-7 p.m. show.

Walking into the Merchandise Mart (home of Q101) this afternoon, I stopped by Argo Tea on the first floor.  Tea with honey?  No-brainer.  I ordered the Green Tea Ginger Twist and marched into a production studio to prepare for my five hours of air time.

The first thing that struck me was that it how great it tasted.  It tasted so great, I was convinced it couldn’t be good for me.  Out of curiosity,I checked out Argo’sNutrition Information online…
 

My large tea?  355 empty, can’t-undo-this-mistake,calories, capped by 88g of carbs. I took one more sip and threw it out.  Since I’m pretty convinced that nothing on earth can save my voice anyway, I decided that my daily caloric intake didn’t need to take the hit.  Especially not for a cup of tea.

Argo’s big-ticket calorie count prompted me to visit the websites of other chain beverage establishments. I wanted to check out the nutrition information of a handful of drinks that people buy several times a week,blissfully unaware of the impact. The results?  Pretty much what I’d expected.  In many cases, the fat and carb contents are insane:

DUNKIN DONUTS

10 oz. coffee, cream and sugar: 120calories, 6g fat, 19g carbs

Coffee Coolatta with cream(medium): 600 calories, 35g fat, 73g carbs

Mocha coffee(large)
: 230 calories, 1g fat, 52g carbs

STARBUCKS

Cappuccino  with 2% milk (Grande/16 oz.): 120 calories, 4g fat, 12g carbs

Caffe Mocha (Grande/16 oz.): 330 calories, 15g fat, 43g carbs

Caramel Macchiato (Grande/16 oz.): 240 calories, 7g fat, 34g carbs


McDONALD’s

Caramel Cappuccino with whole milk (Medium): 240 calories, 6g fat, 41gcarbs

Mocha Frappe (Medium): 560 calories, 24g fat, 78gcarbs

Latte with whole milk (Medium): 180 calories, 10gfat, 13g carbs

________________________________

My learnings from today?  Coffee.  Black.  From now on.

