First Time/First Car: Written Words About a Night of Spoken Word

Last month, I was invited to speak at CHIRP Radio’s “First Time: First Car” event at Schubas.

As explained on the Schubas site:

<<The First Time is CHIRP’s reading series that combines the written
word and music. Local musicians/performers/writers write and read an
original piece based on a “first time” theme. This month, we’re
featuring “First Car.” The piece will reference a specific artist or
piece of music, and immediately following, a live band will perform the
aforementioned song. This is a benefit for the Chicago Independent
Radio Project.

Also featuring Steve Frisbie, Liam Davis and Gerald Dowd playing live accompaniments to each piece.>>

The line-up puts me in great company, which is to say the company of people way more talented and interesting than myself.

Jim DeRogatis is a writer’s writer, a tenacious rock journalist with a spirited and honest voice.  I’ve known and adored him since I first worked with him in 1994, as producer of “Sound Opinions” on Q101 (then hosted by Jim and Bill Wyman).

Robbie Fulks and Smoking Popes frontman Josh Caterer have been two of Chicago’s most beloved and celebrated music voices since the 1990s.

Matt Spiegel is an insanely talented broadcaster.  I’m not much of a sports fan outside of baseball, but I look forward to hearing whatever Matt has to say, alongside Dan McNeil on the Score.

I’ve never met Edelman Digital V.P. Erin Shea.  I do know that she’s a fabulous writer, though–so much so that I feel like I already know her from reading her blog.  She’s seriously pregnant, too, so she could in theory steal the show by going into early labor.

Susan Messing is a well-respected and gifted comedienne.  I’ve been a fan since I first saw her in “The Real Live Brady Bunch” at the Annoyance in the early ’90s

Not only do I not belong in such esteemed company, I have no business talking about cars. If my life depended on having to identify the various parts of an engine, my life would be as good as forfeit.

I’m working on my speech right now, wondering how on earth I’ll be able to write five minutes’ worth of meaningful content, let alone memorize it.  A big part of me right now is wishing I’d waited until CHIRP hosted a “First Comic Book” or “First Schwarzenegger Movie” night.

I’ve attempted to stack the house with friends, family, and industry friends so that if I mess up too dramatically, I’ll at least be able to garner sympathy applause.

  • Schuba’s
  • Wednesday 01/26/2011
  • 8:00 PM
  • |21+
  • $10.00
Tags: , , , , , , ,

