Name My Book!

You may recall that my efforts to publish a book about Chicago Music in the 1990s were met with failure: profound, hard-to-contest, failure.  I just couldn’t pull it off, and that fact left me quietly sulking for the past two years.

I’m not interested in going back to that well anytime soon, but I’ve been anxious to do something. That anxiety compelled me to gather a book’s worth of my music-related writings into a formatted manuscript. After a few months’ worth of effort, I’m sitting on an all-new volume of material, framed by fresh commentary and observations.  I plan to publish it before June.

I currently have three trusted grammar-smart, ball-buster, friends of mine reviewing the document. Once I incorporate their edits and feedback, I’ll simultaneously release a softcover “Print on Demand” version and digital e-book (Kindle, iBooks).  I’m also giving serious consideration to recording an audiobook version, too.

The negative perception of self-published work used to spook me.  Now?  I couldn’t care less.  From the book’s Introduction:

The “Publish on Demand” model has long been stigmatized by critics and the literati, despite the fact that going “D.I.Y.” is a sign of ethical purity in practically every other art form.  In the music world, for example, independent music is treated as honorable and “real.” Major label, “professional” releases are perceived in quite the opposite way:  vastly inferior to indies and most likely ethically and artistically compromised.

The main problem with the book is that I can’t think of a name for it.  I need a title that jumps off the cover, while still
defining the contents within.  And if the title doesn’t completely get the point across, the subtitle needs to make it clear.

My early working title was Record Collection: Riffs, Rants, and Writings about Rock.  I don’t really like it, but it’s all I have right now.

Wanna help me brainstorm?

(update, 2/20/11)
At this moment, I’m leaning towards Volume Knob: Riffs, Rants, and Writings about Rock.

(update, 2/21/11)
I think I have a winner: Off the Record Collection: Riffs, Rants, and Writings about Rock.

Tags: ,

