Best Songs Ever #7: Alice Cooper “Ballad of Dwight Fry”

I was thrilled to buy tickets this week for Alice Cooper’s return to the area in December. In his advanced age, he continues to outperform buzzbands whose members are a third of his age. I can’t stress enough that Alice is the rock frontman’s gold standard. Please believe me when I insist that you see him before he goes off to the Great Back Nine in the Sky.

Alice’s Love it to Death album, released 40 years ago, was his first truly important album. “I’m Eighteen?” Classic. “Is It My Body?” Amazing.  The standout track, however, is the “daddy’s in an insane asylum,” six-plus minutes long epic, “Ballad of Dwight Fry.”

I think I spent every day of eighth grade playing the vinyl version of “Dwight Fry” into a grooveless, scratchy, muted shadow of the original track. I’ve never stopped listening, though in the years that followed, I upgraded to Love it to Death on CD, which eventually got converted to MP3.

Tags: , ,

One response to “Best Songs Ever #7: Alice Cooper “Ballad of Dwight Fry””

  1. jimmy jo says :

    thank you darkshadows for bringing this song into my world!!

