Chicago bands – it’s time to celebrate LOCALCEMBER

I’ve had a very memorable year podcasting with the Steve Dahl Network. Most recently, and shockingly, my show was nominated for the national Podcast Awards. Once I get more information on how to vote for a winner, I’ll probably be asking for your help (In fact, I think voting officially starts tomorrow).

I’ve been lucky to have had some big-time guests on this year, mostly from the world of music (go figure). It occurred to me, however, that I should probably take a few steps back and spend more time focused on an area I love and have unintentionally underserved: Chicago music.

December, 2012 is LOCALCEMBER on the James VanOsdol Show, featuring nothing but Chicago bands. I’ll be interviewing cool up-and-coming local bands all month and, if the bands are willing, also playing their music on the show.

What does this mean to you? If you’re in a band, I want to hear your stuff. If you know someone in a band, please tell them about Localcember. It’ll be just like when I hosted Local 101 back in the day … only this time around, I don’t need to edit out profanity from songs. Well, that, and I’ll have to get formal permission to actually play the songs.

Genre is unimportant. I’ll play rock, metal, alt, blues … whatever sounds good.

Contact me at james@dahl.com. Localcember: it’s a Chicago thing.

__

Local bands: you can follow in the footsteps of these honorable folks, who have all been interviewed on my show this year (listed in no particular order):

Jenny McCarthy
James Iha (Smashing Pumpkins/A Perfect Circle)
Alan Parsons
Queensryche (Geoff Tate)
The Yardbirds (Jim McCarty)
The Tubes (Fee Waybill)
Steve Howe (Yes/Asia)
Thomas Dolby
Johnny Winter
Rebirth Brass Band
Dick Dale
Pat Travers
Soul Asylum (Dave Pirner)
actor Paul Adelstein (“Private Practice,” “Prison Break”)
Eve 6
Candlebox
The Toadies
Smoking Popes
musician/producer Butch Walker
Styx
The Last Vegas
Martin Atkins (Pigface, Public Image Ltd.)
Die Warzau (Jim Marcus)
Girl in a Coma
Chantal Claret (solo artist/Morningwood singer)
Janus
JC Brooks and the Uptown Sound
Off Broadway
Emilie Autumn
author/rock critic Jim DeRogatis
author Brian Cronin (“Was Superman a Spy?”)
author Will Murray (Doc Savage)
horror film host Svengoolie

Tags: , , , ,

