“The Wolverine” and the Joy of Not Spoiling Post-Credits Sequences

THE WOLVERINE

I can’t explain it, but I always have to know in advance what surprises await at the end of every comic book movie I see. Plot setups, Easter eggs, jokes–I’ve sought them all out well in advance of my movie-going experiences.

Case in point:

(Spoilers ahead for movies that have been out for longer than two months.)

Daredevil? Spoiled. Bullseye lives.

The Incredible Hulk? Spoiled. Tony Stark in a bar.

Iron Man 1-3? Spoiled. Nick Fury. Thor’s hammer. Bruce Banner.

X-Men 3? Spoiled. Xavier lives.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine? Spoiled. Deadpool? Logan drinking.

Green Lantern? Spoiled. Yellow Sinestro.

Thor? Spoiled. Cosmic cube. Loki.

Captain America? Spoiled. Avengers preview.

The Amazing Spider-Man? Spoiled. I don’t know what that was.

Avengers? Spoiled. Thanos and shawarma.

I hadn’t paid much attention to the details of The Wolverine leading up to the film’s release. My expectations were fairly low after the last solo Wolverine movie, and I wasn’t a huge fan of the comic book miniseries the movie was based on. I knew I would eventually see it, of course; comic movies sucker me in every time (although I’ve yet to see Man of Steel, and am in no hurry).

Only one day after The Wolverine arrived in theaters, there I was in my local theater, eating nachos, drinking Coke Zero, and taking in a 3 p.m. screening. It was much better than I had expected–Hugh Jackman continues to own and grow the role. It’s remarkable to consider that The Wolverine is Jackman’s sixth movie appearance as the clawed Canadian mutant (including his profane cameo in X-Men First Class, which I spoiled for myself well in advance).

Once the credits started, I got up and headed for the exit. I never thought for a moment about the possibility of a post-credits sequence. As I walked down the stairs and past the screen, I realized that no one else was getting up from their seats. No one. They obviously knew something I didn’t.

Hedging a bet, I parked myself in a seat by the exit to see if there was something extra waiting for me. I didn’t have to wait too long–shortly after the initial round of credits rolled came what had to have been the most exciting post-credits moment since Samuel L. Jackson first popped in on Robert Downey, Jr.

No joke, I got chills as the post-credits sequence unfolded and beautifully set up the next movie in the X-Men franchise: Days of Future Past. And that’s as spoiler-y as I’ll get.

The lesson? Just because the information is out there doesn’t mean it has to be read.  I enjoyed being surprised at the movies for once, rather than just waiting for the inevitable to unfold.wolvie

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

